Thursday, February 22, 2024

79 bands to compete at London & Southern Counties Area

Must read

There is a fine turn out of bands competing at Stevenage this year — all hoping to get either to the Albert Hall or Cheltenham.

79 bands will compete for the National Finals qualification places at the London & Southern Counties Regional Championships in Stevenage in March.

The event takes place on the weekend of the 16th/17th March and will see two bands qualify for the Albert Hall with three each in the First to Fourth Sections.

Championship Section:

Adjudicators: Alan Fernie & Steve Pritchard-Jones

Amersham (Paul Fisher)
East London Brass (Jayne Murrill)
East of England Coop (Nigel Cooper)
Egham (Gareth Green)
Friary (Nigel Taken)
Fulham (Sam Hairsine)
Haverhill Silver (Paul Filby)
Medway (Graham Wilson)
Redbridge Brass (Chris Bearman)
Sandhurst Silver (Joshua Geddes)
Wantage (Chris King)
Zone One Brass (Richard Ward)

First Section:

Adjudicators: Leigh Baker & John Ward

Aveley & Newham (Will Wilkins)
Bedford Town (Craig Patterson)
Cawston (Leigh Sharpe)
City of Norwich (Mark Ager)
Epsom & Ewell (Tariq Ahmed)
Grimsdyke Brass (Stuart Quinlan)
Hitchin (Andrew Kershaw)
Horsham Borough (Will Wilkins)
Jersey Premier Brass (Jason Mildren)
Kidlington Concert Brass (Jonathan Pippen)
Milton Keynes Brass (Matthew Brown)
Regent Brass (Alan Duguid)
Soham Comrades (Jayne Murrill)
Thundersley Brass (Melvin White)
Wantage Concert Brass (Simon Jones)

Second Section:

Adjudicators: John Ward & Steve Pritchard-Jones

Alder Valley Brass (David Hatton)
BAE Systems (David Lockwood)
Chichester City (Alfie Hughes)
Chiltern Hills Brass (Gordon Davies)
Chinnor Silver (Oliver Hallstead-Brooks)
City of Cambridge (Philip Fisher)
Epping Forest (Keith Schroeter)
Fairlop Brass (Kevin Jordan)
LGB Brass (Ian Stewart)
Olney Brass (Philip Devine)
Oxford Cherwell Brass (Neil Brownless)
Simon Langton Brass (Andy Collins)
St. Sebastian Wokingham (John Watts)
Staines Brass (Gareth Trott)
Tendring Brass (David Rowland)
Tilbury (Melvin White)
Ware Brass (Mark Ager)
Waterbeach Brass (David Minchin)

Third Section:

Adjudicators: Sam Fisher & Helen Douthwaite-Teasdale

Amersham Concert Brass (Malcolm Peach)
Bradwell Silver (Brian Keech)
Brighton & Hove City Brass (Andy Wooler)
Castleton Brass (Melvyn Stammers)
Cold Ash Brass (Jemma Johnstone)
Crystal Palace (Jim Lynch)
Great Yarmouth Brass (Colin Swaep)
Hangleton (Richard Baker)
Hemel Hempstead (Dan Shave)
Hungerford Town (Tim Crouter)
Jubilee Brass (Oxford) (Clifford Sadler)
Littleport Brass (Ian Johnson)
Putney & Wimbledon (Sam Topp)
Regent Community Brass (Simon Tong)
Tadley Concert Brass (Paul Chapman)
Welwyn Garden City (William Douglas)
Yiewsley & West Drayton (Bogdan Skrypka)

Fourth Section:

Adjudicators: Leigh Baker & Helen Douthwaite-Teasdale

Abbey Brass (Rob Tompkins)
Betteshanger Colliery (Mike West)
City of Oxford (Douglas Brown)
Cottenham Brass (Peter Mackley)
Dereham (Tony Hampton)
Godalming (James Haigh)
Hadstock Silver (Diane Pannell)
Letchworth Garden City (Tim Welch)
Norfolk Wherry Brass (Steven Kemp)
Pangbourne & District Silver (Stewart Lewins)
Patcham Silver (James Benka-Coker)
Reading Springs Gardens (Matthew Ruel)
Royston Town (Steve Earley)
Wantage Academy (Nikki Jones)
Watford (Ian Graves)
Witney Town (Guy James)
Woodbridge Excelsior (Alan Duguid)

Latest article